EuropeCzech RepublicMoraviaPragueSouthBohemia




Náměstí Republiky 5, 111 21 Praha
1 / < >

Enjoy the world famous classical music concert played by great Karlovy Vary Symphony Orchestra!

Performed by:
Karlovy Vary Symphony Orchestra - 60 musicians on the stage

Ender Sakpinar - conductor
Seungyoun Kim - piano

Karlovy Vary (Carlsbad) Symphony Orchestra was founded in 1835 as a seasonal spa orchestra and later transformed into a permanent symphony orchestra with many activities and versatile repertoire. In 1894, Karlovy Vary Symphony Orchestra premiered Dvorak´s New World Symphony. In 1911 - 1941, conductor Robert Manzer raised the orchestra on remarkable artistic level and made contacts with important personalities of European music, e. g. P. Casals and R. Strauss.

With Karlovy Vary Symphony Orchestra have collaborated renowned conductors, such as Jiri Belohlavek, Dean Dixon, Aram Khachaturjan, Zdenek Kosler, Charles Mackerras, Libor Pesek, pianists Emil Gilels, Ivan Moravec, violinists David Oistrach, Gidon Kremer and Josef Suk, violoncellist Mstislav Rostropovich, harpsichordist Zuzana Ruzickova, opera soloists Magdalena Hajossyova and Eva Urbanova, to name just a few.

Karlovy Vary Symphony Orchestra performs regularly in Czech Republic (Prague Spring Festival) and abroad. Apart from symphonic programmes, the orchetra plays on opera festivals (Oviedo), ballet soirees (Bregenz), international competitions (Zaragoza), and cantata concerts (Antverps, Bonn, Karlsruhe, etc.).

Representative Smetana Hall was the site of the independent Czechoslovak Republic declaration in 1918. Nowadays it serves predominantly as a concert hall. Beautiful Art Nouveau decorations – paintings with Slavic motifs, decorative stained glass ceiling, gilded lamps, beautiful organ – all this creates an unusually harmonic whole, which is a worthy area for implementation of the greatest treasures of Czech and world classical music.

Do not miss your chance to visit great classical music concert in one of the nicest concert venues in Prague!

Duration: 120 minutes, including 15 minutes intermission

VIP - assigned seating, row 1-19 parter
A - open seating, row 17-32 parter and balcony

L. van Beethoven: Piano concerto No.5 E flat major

A.Dvořák: Symphony No.9 "From the New World"

Places & Venues

Náměstí Republiky 5, 111 21 Praha




Municipal House

The Art Nouveau building of the Municipal House was built during the years…

+ Detail

< >